All is calm, all is bright.

Lazy Christmas week – I didn’t finish my new posts so I thought for the new readers who have joined since last year I would repost this.

To those who already have read it, put your feet up and have a glass of mulled wine on me. Happy Christmas.

matteringsofmind

Tonight, miraculously I had got my three children into a church for the first time in I don’t know when.  Normally it would be easier to get them into a cold shower.  Their mother was singing in a choir at a Christmas Carol concert in St Andrew’s central church in Plymouth; foregoing the Xbox and the Facebook they came out to support her.

The church stands on a spot in the city, where there has been a house of worship in one form or another since the 8th century.

In March 1941, the Church was bombed and badly damaged. Amid the smoking ruins a Imagelocal headmistress nailed over the door a wooden sign saying simply Resurgam (Latin for I shall rise again), indicating the wartime spirit, a gesture repeated at other devastated European churches. That entrance to St Andrew’s is still referred to as the “Resurgam” door and…

View original post 1,035 more words

About Bill Hayes

I have a very large sea shell collection; it's too big to keep at home, so I have left the collection scattered on various beaches around the world. Perhaps you've seen some it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All is calm, all is bright.

  1. john zande says:

    Merry Christmas, Bill.

Leave a Reply

